The book meme

polpot.jpg

I normally dig my heels in and resist memes, but a little while back Phil tagged me with a good one. Feel free to join in if you like.

Very simply, grab the nearest book, go to page 123, and write down sentences six to eight. Then see what randomness you come up with. It’s all the rage on the sociology blogs, I believe.

So what we have here is:

Nokorbal agents took the time to make a watertight case and prepare the purge of a party cadre carefully. In June 1977 Tiv Ol, another cultural revolutionist, was arrested. In May and June five more North zone cadres were sent to Tuol Sleng and between June and September another 35 Northwest zone cadres.

Quite. That cheery little passage was from The Eyes of the Pineapple: Revolutionary Intellectuals and Terror in Democratic Kampuchea by RA Burgler (Saarbrücken, 1990). So put that in your pipe and smoke it.

(Actually, I cheated a little. This was the second book I picked up. The first was a Sherrilyn Kenyon novel, and the directions put me in the middle of an energetic shagging scene. I know some readers are a bit sensitive about that sort of thing.)

5 Comments

  1. Phugebrins said,

    March 12, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Huh. The first book I picked up was, on p123, full of vocalic laryngeals and other fun things that would probably not be possible to type (and would certainly have me spending the next few hours with Character Map). The second, which is around 500 pages long, has no page numbers. #3 leads me to some trade-names listed prosaically, with no context. I’m going to stop now.

  2. charliemarks said,

    March 13, 2008 at 12:59 am

    I think the shagging scene would’ve been more interesting…

  3. Louise said,

    March 13, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Yeah Splintered, quote the shagging scene. Does sound much more interesting…

  4. splinteredsunrise said,

    March 14, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Well, I don’t have the Sherrilyn Kenyon to hand. But here’s sentences six to eight from page 123 of Lust on the Line by Noel Amos. A most entertaining read.

    ‘Ask me nicely,’ he replied. That’s what Bruno said to Marietta at this point.

    ‘Give me the dildo – please!’

    And am I glad I didn’t have to quote the next paragraph…

  5. Pineapple said,

    October 11, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Good book! The Burgler one, that is.


Leave a Reply

