Your humble host staggers back to the coalface

110821img2.jpg

Well, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? Thanks to everyone for their kind messages – I’ll also endeavour to go through the irregularly checked SS mailbox.

 A special thanks also to Madam Miaow for the card.

It’ll be some time yet before I’m firing on all cylinders, but there will be some writing here. There’ll probably be some changes on the blog in priorities and subject matter, but there you go. It’ll be a nice surprise.

But for now, it’s time to get back to Celebrity Squares. Will it be Mary-Kate? Or will it be Ashley? One never knows, and so the tension builds…

8 Comments

  1. Madam Miaow said,

    January 7, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Yay! He’s back. And this time it’s personal. At a blog near you.

    THE RETURN OF SPLINTY

    Pass the popcorn.
    X

  2. andy newman said,

    January 8, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    well that is a relief, checking this blog is an importnat part of my prevarication to postpone ever doing any real work

  3. January 8, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I felt sullied having to look at other blogs in your absence.

    Welcome back, Splinters.

  4. January 8, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    I stumbled across your blog. And having never read it before, it certainly made me grin. Welcome back is in order I see from the comments!!!

  5. WorldbyStorm said,

    January 8, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Glad you’re back splintered. Keep it… er… real… !

  6. Mick Brody said,

    January 9, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    very glad youre back! hope youre feeling much better.

  7. Scatwoman said,

    January 10, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Oh, I forgot. You can’t pass the popcorn, can you? I bet you’re having problems passing anything right now.

  8. top tip said,

    January 11, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    on the subject of blogging, this is the funnist thing I have seen:

    > From: jimjepps@xxxxx.com
    > Subject: FW: Unusual self promotion
    > Date: Wed, 9 Jan 2008 19:43:12 +0000
    >
    >
    > Hello,
    >
    > Possibly for the first time I’ve decided to do a little work over the next few days to promote my blog The Daily (Maybe) http://jimjay.blogspot.com (not the other mad one obviously)
    >
    > I generally shy away from these things but it would be nice to attract a few more comments and readers and that kind of thing. To this end I’m writing, in a one off fashion, to ask for your assistance as someone who might hopefully not be too ill disposed towards TD(M) or even myself. Possibly.
    >
    > Scanning around for things that might help I came across “the bloggies” which are a sort of yearly oscars of the blogs in which anyone can nominate blogs in a number of different categories. Those with the most nominations go forward to the panel discussion round where the choices are made.
    >
    > If I could get in that list of nominees for one category (eg best european blog) it would be a very nice thing. Utterly undeserved, but nice none the less. You have to nominate more than one blog (three I think, if you have difficulties with the other nominations choose a few from my links bar, or choose your own if you read blogs more widely) overall on the ballot paper but you can leave loads of blank spaces. Blogs can go into more than one category and when I did it (filling in quite a lot) it took about two or three minutes.
    >
    > The nominations need to be in in the next two days. If you feel like doing this it may earn you some sort of karma or something, despite the rather dubious nature of these awards, cough.
    >
    > http://2008.bloggies.com/
    >
    >
    > Other things that might be pleasant include; if you have a blog remember me in your thoughts when posting – I’d prefer you didn’t say “Jim wants me to mention him” even though that’s true as it would make me look like a shameless self promoter and egotist. That, I’m sure you’d agree would be terribly, terribly unfair. The slickest way would of course be to post about something and link to something I’ve said on a similar subject – but any kind link on a blog or elsewhere would be dandy.
    >
    > You might remember a post you liked and post it up on facebook/similar (although not if your friends have already done this obviously) although I’m dreading this may see a resurgence of readers to my post on spanking. Anyway.
    >
    > There may be something else you can think of (telling a friend you’re playing at scrabulous about a post you consider tolerably adequate perhaps) that only you could know would be handy. I think you get the drift.
    >
    > Anyway, apologies for being very unbritish and that, and if you would like me to return the favour in some way please do write back and let me know how I can oblige – although please do not consider this a bribe, more of an undisclosed inducement.
    >
    > Yours,
    >
    >
    >
    > Jim Jepps


Leave a Reply

