Search of the week

bushbono.jpg

Well, the stats counter has nearly burst into flames this past week. I’d like to think that this blog’s coverage of the Respect crisis has given traffic a boost, and indeed it seems to have done, but the big spike in the graph was very largely due to my throwaway skit on the Tower of Bono. Thanks to Crooked Timber for picking it up.

Despite all this extra traffic, however, it hasn’t been a vintage week for searches, so I’ll just flag up a few that caught my eye. Gay tracksuit photos in Japan is an obvious one, and so is Myles na gCopaleen at war. I’m also pleased to see Skibbereen Eagle turn up, as well as Wittgenstein and Chomskyan linguistics. Although I’m puzzled by why men buy boats Michelle Marsh

A punter asks, Where can I buy Gerry McGeough’s book? I didn’t know he had one, but I’ll look out for it. Another Googler simply types liúdramán – well, that’s to the point. Someone else is looking for duncher work hats – you know, I used to wear a duncher, much more regularly than I do now, but I never thought of it as a work hat.

Our bronze this week goes to apartments built over Church of Satan. Somebody alert Sarah Beeny!

Our runner-up is bone Inuit fetish. Would this be a mystical Greenlandic carving?

And this week’s winner couldn’t really be anything but Bono’s erection. I will be watching plans for the Tower of Bono with great interest.

2 Comments

  1. Swineshead said,

    October 25, 2007 at 9:42 am

    The thought of Bono’s erection has ruined my day.
    Thanks.

  2. ejh said,

    October 25, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    This week we got one for “d cup girls”. I am not remotely surprised that someone should make such a search but why it would locate us, God only knows…


Leave a Reply

