Search of the week

suranne.jpg

This week, I’m heartened to see that some intrepid Googler is searching for information about Kevin Wingfield, the Sage of Ballymun. And a couple are looking for the late Monty Johnstone, who we’ll get to shortly. I’m intrigued by Johann Hari Private Eye, and cheered by mumbo pocus. But we’ve also got some fairly highbrow searches this week:

In third place, critique of Sapir and Whorf. Actually, I have quite a bit of time for the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis, unfashionable as that might be.

In second place, Summa Theologica boring. Well, Aquinas isn’t to everybody’s taste.

And this week’s winner is philosophy students idiots. Do I detect a philosophy lecturer?

4 Comments

  1. July 9, 2007 at 9:22 am

    […] This week, I?m heartened to see that some intrepid Googler is searching for information about Kevin Wingfield, the Sage Read full story… […]

  2. Idris of Dungiven said,

    July 9, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Johan Hari Private Eye was me. In a moment of idle procrastination, I was looking for the Eye’s account of how the Hari lad was bitch-slapped via email by Nirpal Dhaliwal so that I might post it on what the youth call a ‘bulletin board’. Alas the Eye did not carry the story in their online edition.

    I wonder how it came up on your radar screen, though?

  3. splinteredsunrise said,

    July 9, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    I do have a tendency to look at the searches on the site stats… it’s fascinating what people look for. I try to flag up funny or incongruous searches, as opposed to the usual run of the mill.

  4. splinteredsunrise said,

    July 9, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    For instance, I’ve just got one for Jack Barnes SWP nut, which makes a nice change from the pervs.


Leave a Reply

